How Do I Disable My Microphone on My Android Smartphone?

If you want to disable your Android phone’s microphone altogether, the process is relatively simple but hidden behind a few menus. Here’s where to look and how to disable your microphone.

How Do I Stop My Phone From Listening to Conversations?

Most Android phones are always listening in some way because they’re waiting to hear you activate Google Assistant. If you’d prefer to switch off this capability, here’s what to do.

How Do I Change My Microphone Settings on My Android?

If you want to change what apps can use your microphone on your Android phone, the process is very similar to disabling it entirely. Here’s what to do.

Where Is the Microphone on an Android Phone?

The microphone on Android phones is usually at the bottom of your phone. Look at where you plug in your phone to recharge, and you’ll see some vents or holes. It’s where the microphone resides and where you should speak to be heard by others or to speak to your phone.

Is My Phone Spying on Me? 

It’s a common concern your Android phone might be spying on you. While your phone will listen out for the ‘Hey Google’ prompt, it’s not tracking what you’re doing or recording your calls. However, if you’re concerned, you can follow the above steps to disable the microphone as much as possible while still receiving and making calls.  Do keep a regular eye on what apps have access to your microphone in case of any threats from malware or nefarious sources.  You can also check the Google My Activity page to see what is being collected by Google about your browsing habits and the apps you’re using.